Prograss #1 Player of the Year

Once again ProGrass, sponsor of the Connecticut High School Coaches Association, the No. 1 athletic turf company, has risen to the occasion and has made a major announcement. Pro Grass will do the following:

1. At the end of each sports season, the CHSCA Sport Committee will pick the Player of the Year in their sport.
2. That “one” boy or girl player will be given a CHSCA/ProGrass Player of the Year plaque for that sport at their All-State banquet.
3. At that time, the player will be given a special application to be filled out and returned to the CHSCA within a certain time period to put them in the running with other sports winners to be chosen as “The” No. 1 Boy Player and “The” No. 1 Girl Player of the entire school year.
4. The one boy and one girl chosen will be presented with a beautiful trophy at halftime of the Connecticut Senior All-Star Football game at Rentschler Field in June.
5. A plaque and name plate with the player’s name, school and year will be placed in our room of honor at our Hall of Fame at Rentschler Field.
6. Award photos will be posted on our website.

Past #1 Player of the Year:
2010-2011 Patrick Gillen, Shelton HS, Wrestling
2010-2011 Brianna Turgeon, Fitch HS, Softball

2011-2012 Casey Cochran, Masuk  HS, Football
2011-2012 Elizabeth McDonald, Pomperaug HS, Girls Swimming